Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Lexington County Museum Spring Open House
Date(s) & Time(s)::
May 5, 2013 at 2:00 PM until 5:00 PM
Location: Lexington County Museum 231 Fox Street Lexington, SC
The Lexington County Museum will host its Annual Spring Open House on May 5, 2013 from 2 pm to 5 pm.Return to event list.
The public is invited to see the ca. 1832 John Fox House, the 1771 Laurence Corley Log House, the ca. 1815 Oak Grove Schoolhouse, and some new additions as well. The Museum will have many of its artifacts, including historic rifles made in Lexington County in the first half of the 19th century by the Quattlebaum and Hall families, in new display cases and will also have a newly restored bedroom in the Fox House on exhibit. The rooms formerly held exhibit cases but have now been restored to their original use as bedrooms. This event is free to the public. Light refreshments will be served. The Open House is a great time for visitors to learn more about the museum and the county’s history. It also gives visitors the opportunity to explore buildings not normally featured on the typical hour long tour. For more information, call the museum at 803-359-8369 or visit our website at www.lex-co.com/museum. The Lexington County Museum is located at 231 Fox Street in downtown Lexington, SC.
Founded in 1970, the Lexington County Museum focuses on Lexington County’s history from the colonial period to the Civil War. It interprets everyday life in the county through historic structures and locally-made artifacts, including furniture, textiles, weapons, and pottery.
Wind: 9 MPH
Humidity: 27 %