15 schools added to statewide support initiative


By Jonathan Oh

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WOLO) -- The State Board of Education announced the addition of 15 schools to the Palmetto Priority Schools project Thursday.

The initiative is designed to help schools considered at risk of not making achievement goals required in the South Carolina Education Accountability Act.

West Lee Elementary School in the Lee County Schools, Elloree Elementary School in Orangeburg County School District Three, and Hunter-Kinard-Tyler School in Orangeburg County School District Four were the ones from the Midlands added to the list.

C.A. Johnson High School, Eau Claire High School, and W.G. Sanders Middle School from Richland County School District One exited the list because they were achieving standards. Fairfield Middle School in the Fairfield County School District was also dropped from the list after achieving standards.

Currently, including the additions, 32 schools are listed in the Palmetto Priority Schools project. The average poverty rating for these institutions is at 97 percent.

To see the complete list of schools, click here.

Add a comment


Comment: 1000 Characters Left

ABC Columbia and its affiliated companies are not responsible for the content of comments posted or for anything arising out of use of the above comments or other interaction among the users. We reserve the right to screen, refuse to post, remove or edit user-generated content at any time and for any or no reason in our absolute and sole discretion without prior notice, although we have no duty to do so or to monitor any Public Forum.

Most Popular

Current: 74°
High: 75°
Low: 73°
Wind: 5 MPH
Pressure: 30.11
Humidity: 85 %

What's on WOLOTV Full Schedule