SC names 5 finalists for teacher of year


COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) — The state education department has released the names of five finalists for south Carolina Teacher of the Year.

The finalists were chosen from nominees representing 81 public school districts and other special school districts in the state.

Lisa O. McCrea-Raiford is an elementary teacher at the Center of Innovating Learning at Pinecrest in Aiken County.

Darleen S. Sutton is a first grade teacher at Pickens Elementary School.

Paul D. Johnson is a biology teacher at Saluda High School.

Trevor T. Ivey is a science teacher at Alice Drive Middle School in Sumter.

Jeffrey M. Venables is a chemistry teacher at Northwestern High School in Rock Hill.

The winner will be announced May 1.

The winter receives $25,000 and a BMW to use for a year. The other finalists receive $10,000.

Add a comment


Comment: 1000 Characters Left

ABC Columbia and its affiliated companies are not responsible for the content of comments posted or for anything arising out of use of the above comments or other interaction among the users. We reserve the right to screen, refuse to post, remove or edit user-generated content at any time and for any or no reason in our absolute and sole discretion without prior notice, although we have no duty to do so or to monitor any Public Forum.

Most Popular

Current: 81°
High: 81°
Low: 71°
Wind: 8 MPH
Pressure: 30.00
Humidity: 67 %

What's on WOLOTV Full Schedule