Rutherford elected leader of House Democrats


COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) — Rep. Todd Rutherford has been elected leader of South Carolina's House Democrats.

The Columbia Democrat replaces Rep. Harry Ott as House minority leader.

Rutherford was elected in a 33-12 vote Tuesday over Rep. Ted Vick of Chesterfield. The vote was behind closed doors.

Ott decided not to seek re-election after eight years in the post, saying he couldn't commit to another two years.

Earlier Tuesday, Senate Republicans re-elected Harvey Peeler of Gaffney as Senate majority leader for the next four years. The Senate GOP voted unanimously for Peeler in a meeting open to the public.

Peeler has been majority leader since 2005.

House Republicans and Senate Democrats elected their leaders in organizational sessions after the November elections.

Add a comment


Comment: 1000 Characters Left

ABC Columbia and its affiliated companies are not responsible for the content of comments posted or for anything arising out of use of the above comments or other interaction among the users. We reserve the right to screen, refuse to post, remove or edit user-generated content at any time and for any or no reason in our absolute and sole discretion without prior notice, although we have no duty to do so or to monitor any Public Forum.

Most Popular

Current: 72°
High: 72°
Low: 72°
Wind: 5 MPH
Pressure: 29.94
Humidity: 68 %

What's on WOLOTV Full Schedule