5 Clemson Trustees To Lead New President Search


By Alicia Barnes

CLEMSON, S.C. (AP) _ Clemson University has named the committee which will search for the school's new president.

Board of Trustees Chairman David Wilkins appointed five trustees to the committee Friday.

The chairman of the search committee is E. Smyth McKissick III of Greenville. Others on the search committee are Leon J. ``Bill'' Hendrix of Kiawah Island, Ronald Lee of Aiken, Louis Lynn of Columbia, Joseph Swann of Greenville and Kim Wilkerson of Cayce.

President Jim Barker announced Tuesday he plans to retire and become an architecture professor at the school. Barker says he will remain in office until a new president is chosen.

Wilkins says Barker's offer to stay on as president will allow trustees to be thorough and deliberate.
Current: 56°
High: 56°
Low: 52°
Wind: 7 MPH
Pressure: 30.06
Humidity: 84 %

What's on WOLOTV Full Schedule