Boyd In College All-Star Skills Competition


By Press Release

  Clemson University quarterback Tajh Boyd will participate in the 2014 Quicken Loans All-Star Football Challenge, an exciting skills competition featuring college football’s brightest stars.  The 16th annual program is scheduled to air Tuesday, Jan. 28, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN2 and will have an encore airing on ESPN2 at 2 p.m. ET on Feb. 2. ESPN will also air an encore at 4 p.m. ET on April 27.
Individual events in the 2014 Quicken Loans All-Star Football Challenge include: Quicken Loans QB Accuracy, Skechers Hands Competition, Mercedes-Benz Lineman Strength Challenge, Eckrich Obstacle Course and TD Ameritrade Speed Kick. To conclude the program, the players will be divided into three teams for The Quicken Loans Team Competition.
Boyd concluded his playing career as one of the most prolific passers in Atlantic Coast Conference history. The two-time First Team All-ACC selection threw for a conference-record 107 touchdowns and accounted for a league-best 133 scores during his career. Over 47 games with the Tigers, Boyd threw for 11,904 yards and 107 TD’s and posted 12 of the top 14 single-game passing-yardage totals in Clemson history. A finalist for both the Manning and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Awards, Boyd was responsible for 44 touchdowns and totaled 4,251 total yards in 2013.
The participants in the 2014 Quicken Loans All-Star Football Challenge are:

Quicken Loans QB Accuracy
Tajh Boyd – Clemson
David Fales – San Jose State
Logan Thomas – Virginia Tech 
Eckrich Obstacle Course
Lache Seastrunk – RB – Baylor
CJ Mosley – LB – Alabama
Kyle Van Noy – LB – BYU
Skechers Hands Competition 
Ha Ha Clinton-Dix – S – Alabama
Justin Gilbert – CB – Oklahoma State
Marcus Roberson – CB – Florida
Bradley Roby – CB – Ohio State
Mercedes-Benz Lineman Strength Challenge
Ra’Shede Hageman – DL – Minnesota
Jake Matthews – OL – Texas A&M
Louis Nix III – DL – Notre Dame
TD Ameritrade Speed Kick
Chris Boswell – Rice
Anthony Fera – Texas
Cairo Santos – Tulane
Alumni of the All-Star Football Challenge include three Heisman Trophy winners (Ron Dayne, Troy Smith and Jason White) and 52 first-round NFL draft picks, such as: Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, Santana Moss, Matt Ryan, Von Miller Vernon Davis, Joe Flacco, Donovan McNabb, EJ Manuel, Kenny Vaccaro, and Edgerrin James.
For more information on the 2014 All-Star Football Challenge, follow us on Twitter (@AllStarFBall) and like our Facebook page (

Add a comment


Comment: 1000 Characters Left

ABC Columbia and its affiliated companies are not responsible for the content of comments posted or for anything arising out of use of the above comments or other interaction among the users. We reserve the right to screen, refuse to post, remove or edit user-generated content at any time and for any or no reason in our absolute and sole discretion without prior notice, although we have no duty to do so or to monitor any Public Forum.

Current: 38°
High: 39°
Low: 38°
Wind: 5 MPH
Pressure: 30.32
Humidity: 46 %

What's on WOLOTV Full Schedule