Ciuffo Class AAAA Player of the Year


By Sports Department

LEXINGTON, S.C. (LHS) -- Lexington head baseball coach Brian Hucks has been named the 2013 South Carolina High School Baseball Coach of the Year for all classifications, while senior catcher Nick Ciuffo has been named the South Carolina AAAA State Player of the Year, it was announced by the South Carolina Baseball Coaches Association (SCBCA) on Tuesday. Lexington senior left-handed pitcher Josh Reagan and junior center fielder Ryan Brown were also named to the all-state team.

Lexington, which finished the season 28-5, claimed the AAAA state championship when they beat 3rd-ranked Blythewood 4-0 on Friday before 6,240 at Carolina Stadium in the third game of the best-of-three series.

Hucks is 55-9 in two seasons at Lexington after posting a 258-105 record and winning two AAA state titles (2000 and 2008) in 12 seasons at Brookland-Cayce. His 14-year coaching record is 313-114, including his 300th victory this spring in a 3-2 win over region-rival South Aiken on April 9.

Ciuffo led Lexington in batting average (.468), home runs (5), RBI (33), walks (22), on base percentage (.562) and slugging percentage (.723). Ciuffo, who had a 25-game hitting streak this spring, hit safely in 30 of 33 games and reached base in 32 of 33 overall. He didn’t have a passed ball and committed just two errors in 240 chances.

Reagan posted an 11-0 record with a 1.13 ERA over 11 starting assignments. He was 18-0 with a 1.08 ERA over his final two seasons. Reagan went 2-0 in the state championship series firing a four-hitter in the Wildcats' 5-2 win in the series opener on Monday, May 13, and he fired a three-hitter in Friday's 4-0 championship-game victory. Reagan tossed six complete games and three shutouts while working 68 innings. He allowed 50 hits, struck out 75 and walked only 12, while limiting the opposition to a .200 batting average.

Brown, considered one of the state’s top defensive outfielders, finished 2013 with a .463 batting average while collecting a team-best 50 hits. He scored a team-high 41 runs, drove in 19 runs and led Lexington swiping 17 bases in 18 attempts.

AAAA All-State Team

Nick Ciuffo – Lexington

Josh Reagan – Lexington

Ryan Brown – Lexington

Nic Pappas – Dutch Fork

Jonathan Sabo – West Ashley

Cody Smith – Goose Creek

Jordan Gore – Conway

GK Young – Conway

Grant Holmes – Conway

Taylor Widener – South Aiken

Cory Thompson – Mauldin

Charlie Barnes – Sumter

Thomas Bessinger – Blythewood

Tyler Romanik – Blythewood

Zach Hamilton – Blythewood

Aaron Dahm - Blythewood

Andrew Beckwirth – Blythewood

Gene Cone – Spring Valley

Akeem Bostick – West Florence

Garrett Chapman – West Florence

KJ Woods – Fort Mill

CD Pelham - Lancaster

AAAA Player of the Year – Nick Ciuffo – Lexington

AAAA Coach of the Year – Barry Mizzell – Blythewood

Coach of the Year All Classifications – Brian Hucks – Lexington

Other 2013 SCBCA All-State teams

A All-State Team

Zach Bair - Branchville

Donell Stanley – Latta

Jeremy Jenkins – Latta

Alex Dorriety – Lamar

Chris Ford – Lake View

Nate Lewis – Lake View

Ryan Stamler – St. Joseph’s

Alex Malsch – St. Joseph’s

Nick Leonard – St. Joseph’s

David Marable – St. Joseph’s

Graham Roberts – St. Joseph’s

Angelo Pahila – St. Joseph’s

Jason Fallaw – Ridge Spring Monetta

Dylan Moore – Carvers Bay

William Ard – East Clarendon

Michael Hill – Fox Creek

Chandler Thompson – Dixie

Brent Lacy – Fox Creek

Caleb Cox- Fox Creek

Gillespie – Fox Creek

Josh Laflam – Southside Christian

A Player of the Year – Nick Leonard - St. Joseph’s

A Coach of the Year – Daniel Little – Latta

AA All-State Team

Brandon Young – Aynor

Travis New – Abbeville

Colin Brady – Pendleton

Patrick Ward – Andrews

Hunter Hill – Mid-Carolina

Justin Colegrove – Waccamaw

Grayson King – North Central

Taylor King – Chesterfield

Kolby Croxton – Chesterfield

James Davis – Cheraw

Joseph Chaney – Ninety-Six

Jacob Childress – Ninety-Six

Tanner Cox – Loris

Zach Hawkins – Pelion

Tripp Rollings – Andrew Jackson

Drew Fisher – Chesnee

Bobby Foos – Chesnee

Darius Washington – Silver Bluff

Mike Delee - Woodland

Zack Madden – Bishop England

Cameron Garrett – Bishop England

AA Player of the Year – Drew Fisher – Chesnee

AA Coach of the Year – Scott Wease – Chesnee

AAA All-State Team

Zach Gonzales – Berkeley

Kyle Van Hoff – Eastside

Jared Williams – Gilbert

Drew Moyer – Gilbert

Bradley Dixon – Emerald

DeAndre Asbury-Heath – Brookland-Cayce

Matt Williams – Belton-Honea Path

Jake Crawford – Belton-Honea Path

Jake Lewis – AC Flora

Madison Stokes – AC Flora

Matt Wallace – AC Flora

Chandler Engle – Chapin

LT Tolbert - Wren

Eli White – Wren

Anders DeShields – St. James

Austin Hawley – Airport

Clark Scolamiero – Greenville

John Park – Greenville

Glenn Batson – Greenville

Hunter Renfrow – Socastee

John Stone – Dreher

Jamal Keels – Manning

Erven Roper - Wren

AAA Player of the Year – Glenn Batson – Greenville

AAA Coach of the Year – Scott Erwin – Eastside
Current: 56°
High: 56°
Low: 52°
Wind: 7 MPH
Pressure: 30.06
Humidity: 84 %

What's on WOLOTV Full Schedule