Greiner, Webb, Wynkoop Earn SEC honors

COLUMBIA, S.C. (USC SID) — Senior left-handed pitcher Tyler Webb and sophomore catcher Grayson Greiner received second-team All-SEC accolades as announced by the conference office on Tuesday afternoon. Freshman left-handed pitcher Jack Wynkoop completes the list of three Gamecocks to receive honors this season earning a spot on the SEC All-Freshman team. Webb adds to his awards for the season after being named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List as well as earning preseason All-America honors from the NCBWA and Collegiate Baseball. He now owns the South Carolina career record for appearances with 106 after surpassing the previous mark of 102 set by Matt Price (2009-12). Webb is among SEC leaders with 16 saves including nine saves in conference contests and is 2-2 with a 1.24 ERA in 36.1 innings. He has 52 strikeouts to just 11 walks, opponents batting .211 against him and he has not allowed a run in 24 of 28 relief appearances this year. He has pitched in relief in 94 career appearances, with 74 relief appearances without allowing a run (78.7 percent). In career relief appearances he is 10-3 with 19 saves. Webb has also been named as a semifinalist for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations and selected by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Associaion. Greiner was named to 2013 USA Baseball Collegiate National Team as well as Johnny Bench Award Watch list for best catcher in the nation and earned Preseason All-America honors from Collegiate Baseball. He was Carolina‘s top hitter in SEC games with a .310 average (31-for-100) in 27 starts with three homers and 14 RBI. He is hitting .291 (53-for-182) for the season with four homers and 35 RBI. He has 10 doubles, second highest on the team, and has scored 27 runs. This marks the second time Greiner has received SEC honors after securing a spot on the SEC All-Freshman Team last season. For two straight weeks in the end of April, South Carolina freshman left-hander Jack Wynkoop was named SEC Freshman of the Week. Wynkoop worked seven scoreless innings in a 4-0 victory at No. 2 LSU in the rubber game of a three-game series, handing the Tigers their first series loss of the year. Wynkoop never reached a 3-ball count in the entire stint and limited the Tigers, the second ranked offense in the league, to just five hits with no walks. Wynkoop combined with two other Gamecocks for the six-hit shutout. He pitched a season-high eight innings to earn the win in 3-1 victory over Kentucky, did not walk a batter and allowed just one unearned run on nine hits. Wynkoop is 7-3 on the year with a 2.81 ERA in 57.2 innings with 33 strikeouts to 10 walks. SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt SEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR – Aaron Nola, LSU SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Alex Bregman, LSU SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR – Sam Frost, Mississippi State SEC”ˆCOACH”ˆOF”ˆTHE”ˆYEAR – Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt FIRST TEAM 1B – Mason Katz, LSU 2B – Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt 3B – Christian Ibarra, LSU SS – Alex Bregman, LSU C – Stuart Turner, Ole Miss OF – Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State OF”ˆ- Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt OF – Raph Rhymes, LSU DH/UTL – Keaton Steele, Missouri A.J. Reed, Kentucky P – Ryne Stanek, Arkansas P – Aaron Nola, LSU RP – Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State SECOND TEAM 1B – Garrett Cooper, Auburn 2B – Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State JaCoby Jones, LSU 3B – Curt Powell, Georgia Andrew Mistone, Ole Miss SS – Mikey Reynolds, Texas A&M Mikey White, Alabama C – Grayson Greiner, South Carolina OF – Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt OF – Brian Anderson, Arkansas OF – Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M DH/UTL – Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M P – Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt P – Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss RP – Tyler Webb, South Carolina ALL FRESHMAN TEAM 1B – Josh Lester, Missouri 2B – Kyle Overstreet, Alabama 3B – Xavier Turner, Vanderbilt SS – Alex Bregman, LSU C – Greg Fettes, Kentucky OF -Kyle Barrett, Kentucky OF”ˆ- Vincent Jackson, Tennessee OF – Harrison Bader, Florida DH/UTL – Zander Wiel, Vanderbilt P – Jack Wynkoop, South Carolina P – Sean McLaughlin, Georgia RP – Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt Ray Castillo, Alabama ALL DEFENSIVE TEAM P – Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M 1B – Mason Katz, LSU; Cole Lankford, Texas A&M 2B – Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt SS – Adam Frazier, Mississippi State 3B – Christian Ibarra, LSU C – Stuart Turner, Ole Miss OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky OF – Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt OF”ˆ- Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

Categories: Sports