Dantzler Wins Academic All-American Award

COLUMBIA, S.C. (USC SID) — Gamecock senior first baseman LB Dantzler earned the prestigious Capital One Academic All-American of the Year award from the College Sports Information Directors of America, leading the way on the Academic All-America Division I baseball teams announced today. Dantzler, who is also a finalist for the 2013 Lowes Senior CLASS Award, leads the Gamecocks in nine offensive categories, tying for the Southeastern Conference lead in home runs with 15. Standing second in the league in slugging percentage (.648) and sixth in on-base percentage (.445), the Winter Haven, Fla., product has helped the Gamecocks to a 39-18 overall record, and South Carolina also hosts its 15th NCAA regional this weekend at Carolina Stadium. Nationally, he stands 13th in homers and 20th in slugging percentage. Among South Carolina‘s regulars, he also leads the team in batting average (.332), runs (43), doubles (14), RBI (48), total bases (125) and walks (36). He‘s started all but two games this year, with 50 of those coming at first base. A member of the 2013 Golden Spikes Award Watch List, Dantzler was the school‘s male nominee for the 2012-13 H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, the highest honor given by the SEC. In the classroom, he has a 3.64 GPA in sport and entertainment management, and off the diamond he‘s volunteered over 50 hours at the Epworth Children‘s Home among his community service projects. The eighth individual in South Carolina baseball history to earn Academic All-America status, this is the third-consecutive year that the Gamecocks have had a first-teamer, following Michael Roth‘s back-to-back selections. Dantzler is the only SEC baseball player honored on this year‘s teams. First pitch for the Gamecocks‘ regional opener against Saint Louis is set for 7 p.m. EDT at Carolina Stadium, and ESPN2 will provide live television coverage. 2013 Capital One Academic All-America Division I Baseball Team as selected by CoSIDA First Team P – Joe Burg, Sr., Hofstra P – John Straka, Sr., North Dakota State C – Collin Slaybaugh, Jr., Washington State IF – Shane Basen, Sr., Charlotte IF – LB Dantzler, Sr., South Carolina IF – Zach Fisher, R-Sr., Towson IF – Tyler Vaughn, Jr., Troy OF – Tim Colwell, Jr., North Dakota State OF – Jeff Keller, Jr., Dartmouth OF – Derrick Workman, Jr., Mercer DH – Benjamin Packard, Sr., Northern Colorado Second Team P – Kolt Browder, Sr., Baylor P – Pat Christensen, Sr., LaSalle C – Scott Sarratt, Sr., Georgia State IF – Michael Bass, Sr., UNC Wilmington IF – Kevin Brown, Sr., Bryant IF – Drew Dosch, Jr., Youngstown State IF – Ryan LaGrange, Jr., UNC Wilmington OF – Ben Hammer, Sr., Toledo OF – Brooks Klein, Sr., Nevada OF – Troy Larson, Sr., Minnesota DH – David Olson, Sr., Campbell Third Team P – Gavin Guarrera, Sr., North Carolina Central P – Haden Hinkle, Sr., San Francisco C – Alex Mortensen, So., Nebraksa Omaha IF – Justin Creel, Sr., Coastal Carolina IF – Carlos Lopez, Sr., Cal State Fullerton IF – Kevin Swick, Jr., Southern California IF – Brad Zebedis, Jr., Presbyterian OF – Alex Mendez, Sr. USF OF – Brandon Thomas, Sr., Georgia Tech OF – Paul Ritzheimer, Sr., Murray State DH – Ryan Prinzing, Jr., UAB

Categories: Sports