Clowney, Boyd up for new SC football award

GREENVILLE, S.C. (AP) — South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney and Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd are on the watch list for the first South Carolina College Player of the Year award. The honor will be given by the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame. A player from a South Carolina school or is a Palmetto State native playing elsewhere is eligible. Officials with the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame announced the 10 players Thursday. Also on the list are Clemson receiver Sammy Watkins, South Carolina quarterback Connor Shaw and receiver Bruce Ellington, Georgia Tech running back David Sims from St. Matthews, Michigan defensive lineman Quinton Washington from St. Stephen, Virginia Tech linebacker Tariq Edwards from Cheraw, Wofford linebacker Alvin Scioneaux and Coastal Carolina receiver Matt Hazel. The award will be presented Feb. 28.