Deep, talented SEC tries to continue baseball dominance

The Southeastern Conference’s depth and dominance in college baseball shows no sign of ending.

Vanderbilt is coming off its first national championship after beating Virginia in the College World Series in June. LSU won a national title in 2009 while South Carolina took home back-to-back championships in 2010 and 2011.

Eleven of the league’s 14 teams have advanced to the College World Series at least once since 1999.

The Commodores return several of their top players from last year’s team— including pitcher Walker Buehler and shortstop Dansby Swanson — and have aspirations of another trip to Omaha.

They should have plenty of competition. Eight SEC teams are ranked in’s preseason top 25.

Categories: Sports