Six Airlines, Five US Cities Chosen for Regular Service to Cuba

Six Airlines, Five US Cities Chosen for Regular Service to Cuba

A direct flight to Havana, Cuba, is listed on a screen in JetBlue Airways Corp.’s Terminal 5 at John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) airport in New York, on Aug. 7, 2015.

As the United States moves towards normalizing relations with Cuba, U.S. officials have announced the cities and airlines that will kick off regular commercial service between the countries for the first time in more than 50 years.

The carriers are American Airlines, Frontier Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Silver Airways, Southwest Airlines and Sun Country Airlines.

Flights could start departing for the Caribbean nation as soon as this fall from Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Chicago, Minneapolis/St. Paul and Philadelphia.

The Cuban cities selected are Camagüey, Cayo Coco, Cayo Largo, Cienfuegos, Holguín, Manzanillo, Matanzas, Santa Clara and Santiago de Cuba. Flights to Havana have not yet been approved, but officials said they are coming.

As part of the agreement, each country will have the chance to schedule up to 10 daily round-trip flights between the designated cities.

Long-term plans include flights to and from Havana and details on those trips will be announced later this summer, according to the U.S. Department of Transportation.

ABC News’ Serena Marshall contributed to this report.

Categories: Local News, National News