Eight South Carolina Counties under Mandatory Evacuation today at Noon

COLUMBIA, SC (WOLO)–South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster has ordered people who live in the following coastal areas to evacuate beginning noon Tuesday.

According to the governor’s office, residents who do not know their zones can visit SCEMD’s “Know Your Zone” website where they can enter their address and be given their precise zones and view detailed maps of the zones.

Northern South Carolina Coast (All Zones)

Horry County Evacuation Zones A, B, C
Georgetown County Evacuation Zones A, B, C
Central South Carolina Coast (All Zones)

Charleston County Evacuation Zones A, B, C
Dorchester County Evacuation Zones D, E, F
Berkeley County Evacuation Zones B, G, H, I
Southern Coast (All Zones)

Colleton County Evacuation Zones A, B
Beaufort County Evacuation Zone A
Jasper County Evacuation Zones A, B
Lane Reversals and Evacuation Routes (All evacuation routes and zones are detailed in the 2018 S.C. Hurricane Guide):

The S.C. Department of Public Safety and the S.C. Department of Transportation along with supporting agencies will at noon tomorrow reverse the direction of traffic along certain evacuation routes to ease the flow of traffic away from the coast:

Charleston to Columbia: A full four-lane reversal on I-26 in Charleston will begin at the interchange of I-26 and I-526. The full reversal continues west until the I-26 crossover to I-77 just outside Columbia in Lexington County.

Troopers say they’ve started the process of closing I-26 east bound after 6:30 a.m. today, beginning at I-77, moving east toward Charleston.

Horry County: Horry County has two four-lane reversals along US 501: SC 544 to US 378; and US 501: Between SC 22 (Conway Bypass) to SC 576 near Marion County.

For the Beaufort and Hilton Head area, we will poise and be ready to reverse US 278 and US 21 if traffic conditions warrant.

Categories: Local News, News, State