NCAA Names Ingram and Allen Consensus All-Americans

Clemson, SC (WOLO) —Clemson tight end Dwayne Allen and South Carolina defensive end Melvin Ingram have been named consensus All-Americans by the NCAA. Allen was a first-team selection by the Football Writers of America and the Associated Press and was the recipient of the John Mackey Award. Allen was the only tight end to make first-team on two of the five All-America teams recognized by the NCAA (AP, Football Writers, Football Coaches, Sporting News, Walter Camp Foundation). Ingram was previously named to the AFCA, Walter Camp and Associated Press first-team squads, making him a consensus 2011 All-American. He is the first Gamecock to be considered a consensus All-American since Del Wilkes in 1984 and just the third overall, joining Wilkes and George Rogers (1980). Ingram, a 6-2, 276-pounder from Hamlet, N.C., led the Gamecocks with 13.5 tackles for loss and 8.5 sacks. He also intercepted two passes, was credited with six quarterback hurries and scored three touchdowns, including a 68-yard scamper on a fake punt in the Gamecocks’ win at Georgia. This is the third consecutive year Clemson has had a consensus first-team All-American. C.J. Spiller was a unanimous All-American in 2009 and Da‘Quan Bowers was unanimous in 2010. Allen was the only offensive player from the ACC to be named a consensus first-team All-American. Luke Kuechly of Boston College (LB) and David Amerson of NC State (DB) were the only two ACC players named among defensive players. Florida State punter Shawn Powell was consensus as well. Consensus All-Americans QB – Robert Griffin III, Baylor RB – Trent Richardson, Alabama RB – Montee Ball, Wisconsin WR – Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State WR – Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma TE – Dwayne Allen, Clemson OL – Barrett Jones, Alabama OL – David DeCastro, Stanford OL – David Molk, Michigan OL – Nate Potter, Boise State OL – Levy Adcock, Oklahoma State DL – Whitney Mercilus, Illinois DL – Jerel Worthy, Michigan State DL – Devon Still, Penn State DL – Melvin Ingram, South Carolina LB – Luke Kuechly, Boston College LB – Jarvis Jones, Georgia LB – Dont’a Hightower, Alabama DB – Mark Barron, Alabama DB – Morris Claiborne, LSU DB – Tyrann Mathieu, LSU DB – Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State DB – Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama DB – David Amerson, North Carolina State PK – Randy Bullock, Texas A&M P – Shawn Powell, Florida State AP – Joe Adams, Arkansas

Categories: Clemson, Sports