Clemson’s Lawrence Named ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year

dexter-lawrenceGREENSBORO, N.C. (ACC) – Florida State redshirt freshman quarterback Deondre Francois has been voted the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Rookie of the Year by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).

Clemson freshman tackle Dexter Lawrence was voted the ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Francois who also received the nod as ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year, was selected as the league’s top overall rookie by 25 of the 48 ACSMA members who cast ballots. The Tigers’ Lawrence and Duke quarterback Daniel Jones received seven votes each.

Francois, a native of Orlando, Florida, served early notice that he was ready to make an immediate impact. Francois was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Week after leading the Seminoles past Ole Miss in the season opener and went on to earn ACC Rookie of the Week honors on four occasions.

Francois ended the regular season with 3,128 yards passing – the fourth-highest total ever by an ACC freshman – and 18 touchdowns with just six interceptions in 373 attempts. He has completed close to 61 percent of his passes while rushing for an additional 189 yards and four touchdowns.

Miami wide receiver Ahmmon Richards and Wake Forest defensive back Jessie Bates tied for fourth in the overall ACC Rookie of the Year balloting with three votes each, while Georgia Tech running back Dedrick Mills received two votes and Duke linebacker Joe Giles-Harris received one.

Francois led the ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year voting with 30 votes, followed by Duke’s Jones and Miami’s Richards with eight each. Georgia Tech’s Mills claimed the remaining two votes.

Clemson’s Lawrence helped the Tigers earn a spot in this week’s Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship game, emerging as a key part of a stout defensive unit that has allowed just 17 points and 307.9 yards per game.

Lawrence, a 6-5, 340-pound native of Wake Forest, North Carolina, ranks fourth on the team in total tackles. He has recorded 7.5 tackles for loss, including five quarterback sacks, while creating 19 quarterback hurries.

Lawrence led the ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year balloting with 23 votes, while Duke’s Giles-Harris and Wake Forest’s Bates earned eight votes each.  Miami linebacker Shaquille Quarterman was next with five votes, while Florida State defensive end Brian Burns received three and Miami defensive end Joe Jackson one.

ACSMA voting for ACC Rookies of the Year:

2016 ACC Rookie of the Year

Deondre Francois, Florida State 25

Dexter Lawrence, Clemson 7

Daniel Jones, Duke 7

Ahmmon Richards, Miami 3

Jessie Bates, Wake Forest 3

Dedrick Mills, Georgia Tech 2

Joe Giles-Harris, Duke 1


2016 ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year

Deondre Francois, Florida State 30

Daniel Jones, Duke 8

Ahmmon Richards, Miami 8

Dedrick Mills, Georgia Tech 2


2016 ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year

Dexter Lawrence, Clemson 23

Jessie Bates, Wake Forest 8

Joe Giles-Harris, Duke 8

Shaquille Quarterman, Miami 5

Brian Burns, Florida State 3

Joe Jackson, Miami 1

Categories: Clemson, Local Sports, Sports