Four-peat! Gamecocks set record for consecutive SEC Tourney titles

NASHVILLE (WOLO) – No team in the history of the Southeastern Conference had won the league’s tournament four years in a row. Until Sunday.

Facing a Mississippi State program that was undefeated in their previous 32 this games this season, South Carolina claimed a fourth consecutive SEC tournament title, beating the Bulldogs 62-51 at Bridgestone Arena.

It was the third-straight meeting between USC and MSU in the league’s tourney final and the fourth-straight victory for the garnet and black against their rival in postseason play, counting the 2017 NCAA Championship, a 67-55 win that brought the program’s first national title to Columbia.

The legendary Pat Summit led her Tennessee Lady Vols to two different tournament three-peats, but Dawn Staley’s Gamecocks become the first school to four-peat in the conference’s postseason.

A’ja Wilson came off the bench for the third-straight game after missing the regular season finale last week at Tennessee with vertigo. The Heathwood Hall alum still led the team with 16 points and eight rebounds. Tyasha Harris scored 14 points while Mikiah Herbert Harrigan added 13.

Wilson completes an incredible run in her illustrious career at Carolina, going a perfect 12-0 in the SEC Tournament, never losing in the league’s playoff field.

The Gamecocks will enter the NCAA Tournament with a 26-6 record. They will learn their path and who they might face in attempt to defend their throne on top of the sport when the brackets are unveiled March 12. The tourney’s selection show will air at 7 p.m. on ESPN.

Categories: Local Sports, National Sports, Sports, USC Gamecocks