Beamer named finalist for FWAA First-Year Coach of the Year

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Gamecocks head football coach Shane Beamer is one of three finalists for the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach of the Year, the organization announced this morning (Wednesday, Dec. 29).

Beamer helped the Gamecocks improve from 2-8 to 6-6 in his first season as a head coach, picking up wins over Florida and Auburn in November to become bowl eligible in 2021. Beamer won games with three different starting quarterbacks – Zeb NolandLuke Doty and Jason Brown – and had a defense that had 15 interceptions and recovered nine forced fumbles.

Beamer is joined by UCF’s Gus Malzahn and Tennessee’s Josh Heupel as the three finalist for the First-Year Coach of the Year Award. The FWAA also announced its finalists for First-Year Player of the Year as Georgia’s Brock Bowers, Oklahoma State’s Collin Oliver and Ohio State’s CJ Stroud were the three finalists for the honor.

Beamer and the Gamecocks face North Carolina in the 2021 Duke’s Mayo Bowl on Thursday, Dec. 30. Kickoff is set for 11:30 a.m. at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte.

Categories: Local Sports, Sports, USC Gamecocks