47 SC schools to pilot teacher evaluation system

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) — Nearly 50 schools across South Carolina are piloting a performance-based system for evaluating teachers. So far, 14 districts have signed on to help finalize Superintendent Mick Zais’ proposal for evaluating educators. Several more could be added before school starts. One of the most controversial aspects of the plan has been dropped from the 2013-14 testing period. Teachers will not receive an A through F letter grade. Zais had advocated letter grades as a way to clearly communicate teachers’ performance. But educators opposed it as degrading, and the state Board of Education sided with them last November. Deputy Superintendent Charmeka Childs says letter grades could still be part of Zais’ proposal next summer for a statewide evaluation system. But she says the move shows the agency is listening to feedback. Those signed up so far are listed by district. Several more are expected to be added: Bamberg 2: Denmark-Olar High Charleston County: Burke High, Greg Mathis Charter High, Morningside Middle, North Charleston High, R.B. Stall High, St. Johns High Clarendon 1: Scott’s Branch High Clarendon 2: Manning Early Childhood Center, Manning Elementary, Manning High, Manning Primary, Phoenix Charter High Colleton County: Black Street Early Childhood Center, Colleton County High, Colleton County Middle, Cottageville Elementary, Forest Hills Elementary, Northside Elementary, Thunderbolt Career and Technology Center Dillon 4: Dillon High, Dillon Middle, East Elementary, Gordon Elementary, Lake View Elementary, Lake View High, South Elementary, Stewart Heights Elementary Hampton 2: Estill High, Estill Middle Jasper County: Hardeeville-Ridgeland Middle Lee County: West Lee Elementary Marlboro County: Bennettsville Intermediate, Bennettsville Primary, Blenheim Elementary/Middle, Clio Elementary/Middle, Marlboro County High, Marlboro School of Discovery, McColl Elementary/Middle, Wallace Elementary/Middle Newberry County: Newberry High Richland 1: C.A. Johnson Preparatory Academy, Eau Claire High, Lower Richland High Williamsburg County: Kingstree Middle Statewide Charter: Bridges Prep Academy John De La Howe School Source: S.C. Department of Education

Categories: Local News, News